Pentium D 805 Dual Core - What do you think?

lemonlimelemonlime Canada Member
edited March 2006 in Hardware
These 805's have been out for a little while now, and I almost did a double take when I saw the sale price on NCIX. $159CDN for a dual core? wow. I know it's a flaming 90nm intel, but this could make a killer folding rig. I'm very tempted to pick one up. Since they are 533MHz bus models, it won't be very taxing on most mainboards to overclock this thing.

My father desperatly needs a PC upgrade, so it may find its way in his office (Running FAH of course ;)). He's using my old dual celeron 366 BP6 rig from back in the day right now, and it is painful to use.

Anyone have any OC friendly mainboard recommendations? Low cost is key :)

This thing may find its way under the vapo for a little bit of a [strike]burn[/strike]freeze in :)

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2006
    I've no experience with the 805s, but quite a bit of experience with the 820s. You should be able to find an 820, socket 775, 800MHz FSB, 2.8GHz/core on eBay for USD 150-175.

Recommended, stable overclocking boards: Asus P5PL2, Asus P5WD2, MSI 945P Neo-F. I'm sure there are more boards that overclcock the Intel DC chips easily, but my experience is with the boards I've mentioned. Check out Newegg's refurb section. I've had very good experience with their refurbs. The MSI has spotty/poor BIOS overclocking ability, but the software overclocking works well for mid-level overclocking. I'm not sure how far you will get overclocking that CPU, as it's the Smithfield core. Sure, it will probably overclcock quite well IF the case and CPU are well-cooled. There are a lot of guys getting decent overclocks with the stock, OEM heatsink. Beats me how, though. Maybe their nerves are just tougher than mine, watching temperatures climb very high. Be warned, the Smithfield cores put out a LOT of heat under overclocking and load.