OC issues with new vid card.

SouthpawSouthpaw Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
edited May 2006 in Hardware
First, I'm glad to be here. This is my first post. I will list my system specs below, then ask my question.

MSI 945P Platinum.
Intel P4 3.0 Prescott.
4x512's DDR2 667 Kingston HyperX PC5400.
EVGA 7900GT.
Soundblaster Audigy 2.
2x80 gig Barracuda's in RAID0.
Thermaltake Bigwater cooling for cpu only.
Enermax 535 watt psu.

Now, the problem:

I had my cpu running at 3.675ghz, while underclocking my ram to 533. I hadn't touched my voltages as I am somewhat new to this and wasn't sure what to do. My FSB was at 245. My ram timings were reset from the original 5-5-5-15, to 4-4-4-12, and worked fine. I had a nice solid system. What was differen't was that I had an X700 ATI card, and an Enermax 460watt psu at that time. I bought the new EVGA 7900GT, installed it, and my computer wouldn't post. At that time, I reset all the overclocking settings back to original, and it booted up and ran fine. When I tried to turn my OC settings back up(a little at a time of course), specifically the FSB to 215 or higher, it wouldn't post. I purchased a new Enerwax 535 that had all the proper connectors for my MB(my older psu didn't. No 24pin or 6pin) and new video card, but the same thing is happening. I had this box running very stable at 3.675, with cpu temps always below 45c, and now, with the new 7900, I'm back at square one. I have the updated drivers for eveything, did a clean install of WindowsXP, have the updated motherboard and bios drivers. I just can't get her back to where it was.

Apoligies for the long winded post, but this is the problem. I feel cheated that I spent good money on a video card, only to lose a significant amount of performance in my cpu. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Southpaw.

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    I'm not an Intel guy, so I hope someone else may be able to weigh in on this as a possibility: