I need expert advice

King-without-a-crownKing-without-a-crown Glendale, Arizona
edited July 2006 in Hardware
Is this a good system? This is my first time building a computer and I wanted to make sure I dont screw anything up. I have been learning about how to build one for about a year or so now.
I looked around at a Store site that I will want to get all my parts at and this is what I found for my price range? I think it looks like a pretty good system, But I need to know if it is of gaming quality? Are all the parts compatible with eachother, will they perform well when they are all put together?

So here it is

Corsair 1GB PC3200 Kit (400MHz, 2x512MB) DDR 184Pin - Model #VS1GBKIT400 - Lifetime Warranty $69.99

Raidmax Scorpio Mid Tower Case $74.99

Maxtor 300GB L01R300 16MB Buffer Ultra ATA/133 - Retail Hard Drive Kit $74.99

Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe NVIDIA® nForce™ 4 SLI
Socket 939 ATX Motherboard $149.99

DIAMOND GX300SE 256MB PCI-E Graphic Card $99.99

AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3500+ with Enhance Virus Protection* - ADA3500CGBOX - Box CPU - Socket 939 $109.99

The total comes out to be just over $600.

Any Advice is greatly apreciated!

Comments

• edited June 2006
    Depends what you plan to use it for and how long you will keep it.
  • King-without-a-crownKing-without-a-crown Glendale, Arizona
    edited June 2006
    Online use and downloading as well as gaming!:aol:
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited June 2006
    First and foremost is to make sure you have a good high quality power supply with at least 400W. Go with makers like Fortron source, OCZ, Seasonic and Silverstone. Stay away from Raidmax, Foxcon and ones that are not well known for quality.

To keep within the same bdget as the vid card you listed I would go with something like this MSI RX800-TD128E Radeon X800 128MB 256-bit DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card for $102.99. it will walk all over the X300 card you listed and make change in comparison.