Help building a new computer.

edited July 2006 in Hardware
Hey all.
As you can probably tell by the title, I'm planning on building myself a new computer. I know a bit about this stuff, but I'm no expert. As for my budget, well, I'll worry about scraping together the cash later. I do have somewhat of a time restraint, though. I'd like to have it built before I have to move back into the dorms; about four weeks.
I'd prefer to get the best stuff available, that way I won't have to upgrade again for a good long while. My goal is to be able to run, say, Quake 4 on the highest settings.

I already have the case and DVD drives.
Now to the parts I'm considering...

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 FX62 When I showed that to some kid I know, he basically said "LOLOLOLOL DOOD U R GHEY KUZ INTEL IS TEH PWN AMD NWO LOLOLOLOLOL" When I inquired further, it did appear that the new intel will indeed "pwn" the FX62, but he also had no idea when it's coming out.

Graphics card: Geforce 7950GX2 or maybe Radeon x1900xt
I usually prefer Radeon, but my friend (who is, admittadly, a nvidia fanboy) said that the 7950XG2 outdid the X1900XT. I've also noticed other cards of varying prices, but don't know if they're different because of performance, quality of simply brand names.

RAM: Corsair 2 gig DDR2

Hard drive: Western Digital SATA 500 GB

Motherboard: I would prefer ASUS, but I'm not sure specifically what kind would be best. Maybe this?

I'm also planning on getting a new power supply. I'd probably need at least 500W, maybe 600W.
Any advice would be welcomed, and greatly appreciated.:)

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited July 2006