PSU problem in Antec Overture II case

drasnordrasnor Starship OperatorHawthorne, CA Icrontian
edited September 2006 in Hardware
The 120mm fan in the underside of my Antec Overture II's power supply is dying, again. The case's first power supply had this fan that started making noises like a failing bearing (metal on metal whine) after a few months of operation that went away when the case was flipped on its side. Eventually the fan seized up despite the new orientation and the PSU burned out. I've been running Antec's RMA replacement for a couple of months and now it too is starting to whine.

Is there anything I can do to avoid another RMA or is this a design flaw with this type of case?

-drasnor :fold:

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited September 2006
    Just remove the old fan from the PSU and install a new one. I've done that many times with older PSUs whose fans were too loud. Yes, it would void your PSU's warranty but would be an instant fix.
  • drasnordrasnor Starship Operator Hawthorne, CA Icrontian
    edited September 2006
    Just bought a fan. I'm going to see what I can do about not tearing the void label because Overture power supplies aren't standard.

• edited September 2006
    I have the same problem. My PSU Fan is very noisy and no idea what to do.

I have been thinking in replacing the PSU but I have heard that it is not the standar one, rather than a propietary model of antec.

Please let me know if you managed to replace the fan and if yes please give me some guidelines.

regards

juan
    edited September 2006
    The fan is coming in the mail. I opted for one of the new Scythe-branded Sony 120mm fluid dynamic bearing fans. I would have preferred using a Panaflo but I don't think I can use anything thicker than 25mm (120mm Panaflos are 38mm). FDB fans are crazy awesome; all of their noise is due to air turbulence instead of motor/bearing noise and they last forever.