In Praise of APC

LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciersEagle River, Alaska Icrontian
edited December 2006 in Hardware
Hey guys, thought I would share a customer service request experience with you. In short, APC's customer service should serve as an example for the rest of the tech hardware industry.

American Power Conversion (APC) has just elevated the high respect I already had for them. I've been using their UPS's for nearly ten years and have always thought their products to be worth the price premium. Well, it turns out APC's customer service is just as good as their products.

Last Thursday evening, 11/23, I restarted one of my computers, which I had been working on. At the same instant I turned the PSU switch to on, the UPS to which it was connected sounded an alarm and the "Overload" LED started flashing. About one half second later the computer completely lost power. The UPS unit, an APC BN1250 (1250VA/780 watts total battery backup) was only one year old and the battery fault LED had never lighted. I figured right away that something with the internal circuitry had failed. I performed a number of tests and discovered that none of the battery backup ports worked any more, neither with battery power nor with wall current. The next day I submitted a problem form through APC's website. Within 20 minutes I had an email message acknowledging receipt of my message. Within four hours I had an email message from a technician with additional troubleshooting steps for me to take. The same day I followed APC's instructions and emailed the results. The next day following I received an email from the same technician informing me that: based on the data I provided concerning the problem and the results of the troubleshooting, APC considered the problem to be an UPS internal fault and would send me a replacement. The email requested my shipping address and telephone number. They did not require me to ship the old UPS back to APC first.