Fashionable or Functional but Froogle

dstyle347dstyle347 Boston
edited January 2007 in Hardware
Thats right, It's a question. I am looking for the board that will allow me room to grow but allow me also to purchase technology that is affordable. I would like a little more than a yes or no though. Basically I am on a budget and building a new rig. My last build was over a year ago and I have completely fallen out of the loop as far as the current and new technologies available for gaming and general performance. I want to buy a board that is going to allow me to build a complete rig capable of above average gaming performance for around $7 - $800. But I'm not sure what socket is going to allow a budget proc for now and something nice when the money is around. also im not sure whether to go amd or intel anymore but I really want AMD (Arguments for all will be considered). should i go full x16 on SLI? DDR or DDR2? I want to OC but I'm new at it so simple yet capable is my target. I know this is an offshoot but I have yet to decide on multiple or single core for the proc.at this point. The machine is only for games and browsing. I would like to keep the board price at around $130. While you guys are at it a good baseline core system suggestion would be nice. I really appreciate any input from you guys.

Comments

• Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    At this point in time it looks as if Intel's Socket 775 supporting Core 2 Duo and Quad Core CPU's is the way to go. You can jump into a new build pretty cheap and get great performance & have tons of room for upgrades.

With AMD phasing out the 939 and 940 sockets DDR will soon be the dying tech when it comes to memory. Both companies now are selling product all based on DDR2 and soon to be DDR3 for Intel.