PCI or AGP ?

nonstop301nonstop301 51° 27' 24.87" N // 0° 11' 38.91" W Member
edited January 2007 in Hardware
My ATi 9550 bid its final farewell today so I'm trying to decide whether I should go down the AGP path again or switch to PCI in my search for a replacement.

The motherboard I use on this computer doesn't support PCIexpress so that category isn't an option.

The AGP performance of the ATi 9550 wasn't remarkable but it met the requirements of most of the software I'm using on this machine. I'm not sure whether a PCI alternative would be just as good or perhaps better since I have never tried one of them before.

The software I use on this computer isn't very demanding in terms of 3D graphics performance and gaming isn't on the agenda either.

Any advice as to what would be more appropriate is greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance for the comments you wish to provide.

Comments

• QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    PCI is a step down from AGP and AGP is a step down from PCI Express... Go AGP or bite the bullet and buy a new motherboard with PCIe and get a PCIe GPU...
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    For your current application, it really makes no difference whether you have AGP or PCIe. What does make a difference is the future, in that any new system will most certainly require PCIe. If you plan selling/giving away your current system as a complete unit when you upgrade, then AGP would be just fine for your needs. If you plan on transferring components from the present system in the future for an upgrade or rebuild, PCIe is the way to go.
  • nonstop301nonstop301 51° 27' 24.87" N // 0° 11' 38.91" W Member
    edited January 2007
    Thanks for the input from both of you QCH2002 and Leonardo.