New Hard Drive

MathsParMathsPar New
edited January 2007 in Hardware
Hi,

I'm looking for a new hard drive but I'm a relative novice when it comes to things to do with hardware. My old Samsung 160GB one broke down after 4years of use the other week but I'm tempted to use Samsung again as I've found this deal,

http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=312836&cks=ASS&assoc=5A39DAA7-10EA-4BCF-889D-E46501023430

It's 400GB and only £75, no idea how good a deal that is but it's the best I've found so far. What do you think?

Couple of questions also, what else should I look for in a hard drive apart from the number of GBs? Does the number of GBs have much impact on speed cause I'm thinking I might change my DDR RAM to speed up the PC while I'm at it.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Comments

• djshowdowndjshowdown London
    edited January 2007
    personally if it was me i would favour this one
    http://www.pctechonline.co.uk/home/product_detail.asp?id=676&catid=15&show=2

2 reasons

firstly seagate have never really failed me and they come with a 5 year warranty which i BELIEVE is more than most other companies offer

secondly it has a 16mb buffer as opposed to 8mb on the samsung which will give better performance

upgrading your ram is often a very good idea but first you need to be sure that your computer slowdowns arent software related

often ppl are quick to upgrade not realising that if they maintained their PC then it would be running quite sufficient

how much ram do you currently have?

these days 1GB seems to be the standard, 512MB the minimum, but it also depends very much what you use your pc for

if you give us some more details we can instruct you further
  • PterocarpousPterocarpous Rosie the Riveter Lives On in CA, USA! New
    edited January 2007
    djshowdown wrote:
    personally if it was me i would favour this one