Combination Modem-Router vs. Separate Units

audsnendsaudsnends western Canada
edited February 2007 in Hardware
I've been using a Linksys Router with a separate modem for a couple of years and I've found my connection was deteriorating. Often unplug from the router directly into the modem so that my pc has the better connection.

Recently upgraded my DSL package which didn't improve the connection whether plugged into the router or the modem only. Is is possible for routers to wear out? and in such a short period of time?

Secondly, the upgrade included a 2WIRE combination modem & router, I've searched for reviews using the combo but unable to locate anything really concrete.

I'm reluctant to change as setting up the Linksys Router in the first place wasn't an easy task (for me that is).

Any opinions or thoughts on this combo would be appreciated, thanks

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    Check both the router and modem for firmware updates. Also check the latest installation guide from your ISP for modem and router settings. There are number of settings that when wrong, can really slow things down. Sometimes DSL providers will change their transmission protocols, which require new modem firmware and/or router settings without informing their customers. This happened to me recently.
  • RWBRWB Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    Leonardo wrote:
    Check both the router and modem for firmware updates. Also check the latest installation guide from your ISP for modem and router settings. There are number of settings that when wrong, can really slow things down. Sometimes DSL providers will change their transmission protocols, which require new modem firmware and/or router settings without informing their customers. This happened to me recently.