Thoroughly Cleaning A Hard Drive

NorgeNorge Sidney, Ohio
edited March 2007 in Hardware
Hello,

It's been a while since I've been around SM but I've been reading a bit more lately and couldn't think of a better place to come for my question.

Currently I am a programmer analyst for a company and pretty much serve as the IT department. We have some old computers (Pentium II era) that we are going to give away to the American Legion and I have been asked to make sure the hard drives are clean before we send the computers away.

I would like to know if anyone has a suggestion for some software I could use to do a thorough cleaning of the hard drives. This would preferably be something I could download for free and create a floppy boot disk with. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Norge

Comments

• QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited February 2007
    !!!~NORGE~!!! You're back!!!!

As for your question... I personally do not use this but almost every other division uses it... http://www.killdisk.com/

If your company buys the professional version, it will do US Department of Defense 5220.22 M compliant erasures. It's $30 buck.... cheap for what it does...
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited February 2007
    Second the vote for killdisk. I used this for a customer just about a year ago - the same situation; they were giving old computers to charity but had to ensure thorough drive erasure.
  • NorgeNorge Sidney, Ohio
    edited February 2007
    Thanks a lot for the information. Will the free version do a good enough job or would you suggest I try to talk the company into purchasing the full version? Judging by the website it sounds like it would do a decent enough job.

I'm not entirely sure what US Department of Defense 5220.22 M means but it definitly sounds cool. Just as long as some guys in black suits don't show up at my front door and bust out my knee caps with a crowbar.

Adam