Help me pick a lappy.

CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄ƷDer Millionendorf- Icrontian
edited April 2007 in Hardware
Please help me compare these two laptop deals:

http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11205268&whse=BC&Ne=4000000&N=4017754&Mo=10&pos=8&No=7&Nr=P_CatalogName:BC&cat=4774&Ns=P_Price|1||P_SignDesc1&Sp=C&ec=&topnav=

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8224762&type=product&productCategoryId=pcmcat103700050015&id=1166840116855
^This one says "Sold Out" on the Website, but I was just at the store (wont order from BB online anymore anyway!) and they have the same sysem in stock, and on sale for $800

Or if you know of any other deals in the same price/performance range, let me know... Thanks, guys :)

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2007
    I've never used a Compaq laptop before but I have owned (business) Gateway. My experience with the Gateway was so bad, almost as bad as my 1995 Packard Bell, that I could never recommend that brand. Given AMD X2 mobile versus Core Duo mobile, I'd take Core Due without a second thought. If the money is available, I also wouldn't consider any LCD panel smaller than 14".
  • CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Der Millionendorf- Icrontian
    edited March 2007
    Okay, no Gateway... I've decided I don't like Best Buy's return policy anyway...

What about his one:

http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0254153

A little more than the Costco one, but instead of a dual core proc, it has a 2ghz proc. Is that a good trade off?
    edited March 2007
    I'll let you be the judge of gaming, as I don't engage in it. If you plan on doing multitasking, any dual core CPU - AMD or Intel, is significantly superior to a single core. If you keep looking, I'm sure you can find a quality laptop with both dual core AND a real video card (as opposed to el cheapo GPU chip on the motherboard).