Wheee! (I modified an Opel Speedster in NFS 6...

Geeky1Geeky1 University of the Pacific (Stockton, CA, USA)
edited November 2003 in Gaming
Those of you who are into car and who have been here long enough probably know that I have a desire to basically strap a supercharged 500CI Chevy into a Lotus 7 that's been lightened further with carbon fiber, drilled body panels, etc.

The net result would be ~750hp in a car that weighed <1500lbs.

Well, I started playing around with the (user-accessible) code that controls the performance of the cars in Need For Speed Hot Pursuit II today...

So, I now have a simulated BMW M5 powered by a 5.6L M117 Mercedes V8 out of an '86 U.S. spec 560SEL, complete with 4-speed Mercedes auto. Still working on the handling on that one.

The OTHER car that I did, on the other hand, is significantly more exciting. I created a "mild" version of the concept I described initially- tiny car, massive engine. I ran DesktopDynos (old DOS engine dyno simulator) to get the torque curve (which is apparently part of what NFSII uses to calculate performance) for a 400cid SB Chevy with a 12.5:1 CR, street/strip cam, 3000cfm fuel injection system, racing exhaust, and 4 valve/cyl racing heads. Peak torque was ~600lb-ft at like 4500rpms.

So, I converted that to newton-meters (which is what NFS uses), and plugged it in. Swapped the transmission code with the code for the Lamborghini Murcielago, changed the maximum engine speed to 7000rpms, put '04 Viper SRT10-size rubber on it, 15" disc brakes, changed the coefficient of drag to .19 (which is = to the GM EV1, which is the most aerodynamic car of all time), changed the downforce parameters, bumped the suspension stiffness, etc. Oh, and I dropped the curb weight to 1250lbs, and gave it 4wd (25/75 FR).