X-box mod help

edited April 2005 in Hardware
I need to mod an X-box where can I get parts and instructions. i am new at this so be gentle.

Comments

• kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited April 2005
    By mod do you mean just putting a mod chip and say bigger HDD or are you talking about more radical mods like putting it in a different case or swapping the joystick parts for regular USB ports etc...

I'll assume you are just meaning the mod chip and maybe the bigger HDD. For the HDD it's simple go to any local computer store and buy a hard drive WD and Maxtor have the greatest compatibility with xbox and size wise I'd recomend 120gig - 200gig.

As for the chip probably the best chip on the market right now is the Xecuter 3 chip with second place to the Xenium chip. If you get the X3 it'll work on any xbox regardless of version I believe the newest Xenium chip will also. However many other chips won't work on version 1.6 xbox's so you need to know your version and shop accordingly. As for where to get it, there are tonnes of online stores and most cities will have a store or two that can get them for you if buying online isn't your thing.

Instructions on how to do it varies with from mod chip to mod chip and the best place to go is the website for the chip you buy, but the basics work like this.

Take apart your xbox (this voids warranty) pull out the harddrive, pull out the cdrom, remove the plastic stands where they sit. This will give you access to the motherboard. You then set the pins for the mod chip and solder them into place the new chips are really great and easy to solder because they have a header board so you don't have to mess with wires. If you are putting in a new harddrive install it and place everything back together again.