Pc Rebooting On It's Own

BruceYBruceY S. Jersey
edited August 2007 in Hardware
Rebooting on its own in the middle of doing anything. Homemade pc with Althon 750mhz 512mb ram, plenty of free space on C drive running WinXP Home with all latest updates. whats running when this happens you ask, 1 or 2 browser windows, outlook express, ICQ, AIM. Nothing out of the ordenary that has been running for 3 or more years. :confused:
It has done this now 3-4 times in the last 2 months. It is very upsetting when your in the middle of researching something on the net. i HAVE SCANNED DRIVES FOR BADS SECTORS, FOUND NONE
WHERE DO I START:confused:

Comments

• edited July 2007
    Hmm i'm no professionnal but if it reboots out of the blue maybe its a airing problem, check if your fans are clogged ''inside your pc'' if you dont usually go inside your pc, i suggest you bring it to a technician and get your fans clean, it costs like 5$. if thats not the problem well theres no loss cause your pc is clean and it wont overheat ^^
  • BruceYBruceY S. Jersey
    edited July 2007
    I usually "blow" them and the case out twice a year, but just maybe it might be. Also I'll try "Start => Control Panel => System => Advanced => Startup and Recovery => Uncheck "Automatically Restart"
    I saw that in another post.............thank You
  • edited July 2007
    yeh u can try that but loosing ur programs sometime aint worth it, try posting a hijackthis log if the sysrec don't work
  • JengoJengo Pasco, WA | USA
    edited July 2007
    Okay first things first download memtest86 (http://www.memtest86.com/) Burn it to a CD (as an ISO image!) Then restart your PC and boot from the CD you just Burned. It Should start after that on its own. Let it run all night maybe even all day too. Putting it simply what this does is check your memory for problems.