Basic Raid-1 question

HW_HackHW_Hack North of Kalifornia
edited August 2007 in Hardware
I need to build a basic file server (Win2000) that has a high level of recovery / redunancy when it comes to the data and the up-time. It also needs to be fairly cheap ( I work in a school system).

So I've come down to Raid-1 --- my desire would be to mirror the OS and the data files so that should the primary drive crash we just put a new drive in -- auto re-build and we're back in action.

Am I thinking correctly here ?? I've heard there are some issues / concerns in having the booting OS as part of the array.

This will be a HW Raid solution using a PCI Raid card and two 250GB drives. I could go to a separate HD for the OS - but now I have to be able to rebuild an OS drive should that croak.

I read thru the RAID section but this scenario wasn't covered

Thanks

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited August 2007
    For even better security, you could move to RAID 5 with four hard drives. HDDs are very inexpensive. Sure your budget wouldn't allow for that? That's even better redundancy. Before someone laughs at me: I haven't worked with RAID in a while, but think that I probably know what I'm talking about. (I'm preparing a graceful mea culpa.)

Your RAID 1 proposition appears valid to me. Something to consider would be a RAID 1 plus a third, external drive, to which you do an incremental backup daily.
  • HW_HackHW_Hack North of Kalifornia
    edited August 2007
    Leonardo -

Thanks for the feed back - Raid-5 is no doubt a more efficient / elegant solution but that means not just 2 more HDs but extra $$ for a "real" raid card .... meaning one that can actually do all the parity calcs etc.

I'm looking at one of the sub $100 cards that really just handle Raid 0/1 - I know some of these cards claim Raid 5 but (I'm told) the CPU gets hammered doing the parity work.