Endless boot to Crashing Safe Mode!!!!!

edited August 2007 in Hardware
I am a technician myself and I can't quite figure this one out!

Long story short:

I was on with Hughesnet level 3 tech (all others are morons) and he had me go to msconfig>boot.ini tab and enable:

/safeboot
with network

However, the thing I noticed earlier in the day which I should have mentioned was that when I try to boot to Safemode with network settings, the system never gets all the way into safemode. It just "hangs", not freezes. It gets past the scrolling list of files, displays the SAFE MODE in all 4 corners, asks me for my login/password, but never gets to the "You are in safe mode" "Yes/No" screen. I can still move the mouse around, etc, but nothing happens. I have tried everything I can think of.

So the obvious thing to do would be to go back to Normal mode and uncheck safeboot and network....however, no matter what selection I try after hitting F8, even "Last known working config", it always boots to safemode with networking (even if I say: boot to regular safe mode).

Here's the thing that i think is doing it: Digitalpersona (this is the software I use for my office fingerprint scanner).

The one time I ran Safemode without network config, it gave me the traditional old login/pass screen. However, normally (and when booting to safemode with network) it shows me the "digitalpersona" login/pass screen. The one time it went to safemode only (before he told me to check off the network setting in msconfig), safemode worked fine.

So...here's the question:
How do I 1. edit boot.ini (registry) from dos; or 2. Force it out of this?

Any thoughts would be enormously helpful as I need this laptop for work...it's all I have ;-)

I am running a Dell Inspiron e1505, and no, for some reason, the recovery partition is not working.

Comments

• kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited August 2007