Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme in a Lanboy II?

DanGDanG I AM CANADIAN Icrontian
edited November 2007 in Hardware
Anyone try it? I've got my second Q6600 up and running, but it's running too hot for me (71-79°c).

Does anyone know if the Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme will fit that case? It doesn't look like there will be quite enough clearance.

I have a regular ultra 120 running in my nine hundred on my other q6600, but was hoping to avoid taking the whole thing apart so I can try to test fit it.

Comments

• fatcatfatcat Mizzou Icrontian
    edited October 2007
    My Thermaltake Big Typhoon did not fit.
  • edited October 2007
    If Big Typhoon won't fit, then I would say that there is very little chance of the U-120 fitting.

You might be able to go with a TR Ultima 90 heatsink in that case though. I have no hands on experience with it but it did very well in Anandtech's testing of it. Here is a link to the Anandtech review of the Ultima 90.
  • DanGDanG I AM CANADIAN Icrontian
    edited October 2007
    hmm, the Ultima 90 is just a bit less than 1 inch smaller than the U120.

I think my best course of action at this point is to suck it up and take both rigs apart to see if it will fit.

Thanks for the idea Mudd.
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited October 2007
    Whoa now! I have two Antec Lanboy cases, each with a Thermaltake Big Typhoon mounted inside with plenty of clearance between the heatsink fans and the side window.

Does the Lanboy II have less depth and the Super Lanboy?
  • fatcatfatcat Mizzou Icrontian
    edited October 2007
    Leonardo wrote:
    Whoa now! I have two Antec Lanboy cases, each with a Thermaltake Big Typhoon mounted inside. I've also got an Antec 900 with a BT mounted inside. There is plenty of clearance between the heatsinks' fans and the case sides for the Lanboys and the 900.