Overclocking - risk and considerations - is it worth it?

edited November 2007 in Hardware
Overclocking - risk and considerations - is it worth it?
It is my first time who want to overclock after reading some reviews that one can mildly overclock to get 60-100% gains. It looks impressive.
I am a mild overclocker only. I want to buy some cheap CPUs and overclock them (so they perform like a high-end CPU with less price).

My overclocking principles
I will overclock as much as possible provided that the following conditions are met:
- without shortening my component's life (a very small diminish is acceptable)
- don't spend any/much on cooling device (unless the gains surpass the costs)

1. How risky mild overclocking is?
Originally I think mild overclocking is very low risk. That's why I want to try. But I read someone wrote this in its overclocking guide on the net. This scares me a bit.
- When you overclock a PC, it's never truly stable. The PC was not designed to run with different things at different clock rates that aren't necessarily compatible with each other. What you gain in performance you lose in piece of mind: This thing could crash at any moment.
- Never overclock a PC with important data on it. Overclocking affects the memory and the CPU, and those in turn affect data written on the hard drive. Overclocking can end with corrupted data. You could lose stuff. Keep your overclocking relegated to gaming machines, graphics workstations—anything except a PC with mission-critical or personally-valuable data on it.

Never truly stable? What does it mean?
Does it mean I will still get some crashes or BSOD (although seldom) even though I overclock mildly. If so, it is not acceptable to me. I want to make sure my computer is very stable even after overclocking.

Never overclock if I store important data on a PC? Why?
Does it mean my overclocked PC, even if mildly, will still corrupt my data (although seldom)?