Water Damage

edited January 2008 in Hardware
Good Morning to all.

I am a newbie and need help last night one of my kids spilt my glass of water
away from the computer phew! so i cleaned it up and everything was fine.

I finished using the computer about half an hour later, then put it into standby as usual it went into standby no proplem. i got up this morning and noticed
that only the power button was green no half moon, so i pressed the power button several times and nothing. Can't belive that i forgot to check under the computer yes water,so my computer has been sat in a small amount of water:o
overnight and it's totaly dead. i have an IBM R42 laptop. Please please can anyone help me.:sad2:

Thanks in advance

Chico

Comments

• JokkeJokke Bergen, Norway Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    Dry thoroughly and hope for the best...
  • Gate28Gate28 Orlando, Florida Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    Water damage can be bad, but my tech teacher says that you would be suprised what is blow-dryer safe....

If it's really not working and you have immediate access to another computer, you might want to look up how to open the laptop and blowdry it down and let it sit open (hey, if it dosent work in the first place, not more harm can be done to itP) in a low-humidity, low sunlight area to dry for a day or two, no guarantees, though.
  • edited January 2008
    Thanks Guys

Yeah i took the batery out and blow dryed what i could, but now i will take it apart and let it dry for a day or too.

Thanks again!

Chico
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited January 2008
    Better than 50-50 odds it will still work just fine. Look online for the service manual. You need to dismantle more than the battery bay.
  • edited January 2008
    Leonardo wrote:
    Better than 50-50 odds it will still work just fine. Look online for the service manual. You need to dismantle more than the battery bay.

Hi Leonardo