Overclocking Q6600

airbornflghtairbornflght Houston, TX Icrontian
edited February 2008 in Hardware
Ok. So I started overclocking my computer.

I have a Gigabyte DS3L motherboard, and a Q6600 with 4 gigs of ram (2x2). Power supply is 520w Corsair.

Anyways. I took it to 350*9 right off the bat just to see where I'm at and it is fairly evident that I didn't apply the thermal compound correctly. Two of the cores are running dramatically hotter than the other two. So that needs to get fixed.

Right now my cores are idling around 32-39 degrees depending on the core. Again, Cores 0 and 2 are the hottest.

Core 0: 38
Core 1: 32
Core 2: 35
Core 3: 32

Do you all have some pointers? I'm fairly new to the whole overclocking game. I've heard 3.4 should be reasonable expected. That really what I'm aiming to hear. I'm a little confused on how hard I should push the memory. I did 6 minutes of prime with no error so that's a start. If I could get some general direction on what to do that'd be apreciated.

Ie what frequency to keep the ram around with dividers and the such and also voltages. What are norms and what is the safe range

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited February 2008
    That's not uncommon. You have an IHS that's not mounted quite correctly.
  • SnarkasmSnarkasm Madison, WI Icrontian
    edited February 2008