Want to build a computer for eBay home business use

edited March 2008 in Hardware
Hi Everyone, new here, met Leonardo and thought I'd introduce myself. I will probably lurk here to listen , I'm not that experienced with computer technology but I like to learn something new.
I'm buidling a pc that is just for work on ebay, because the one I have is just a little too slow.
It looks like you know more than me so maybe I'll find out something before it's too late . I'm not a gamer. My homebuilt is a modest P4 , socket 478, 1 gig ram, 160 gig drive, wireless net card, like I say, nothing fancy. The last thing to add will be a vga card,a 128 will do.

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2008
    Mr. Price,

A hearty welcome to you here at Icrontic. I have moved your thread to the general hardware forum. I understand you are fairly new to forums navigation, so this just serves as a small boost for you.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited March 2008
    Welcome to the boards. That computer will do what you need, but let me make a suggestion. Since this is going to be for a home business. I would suggest you get an external harddrive and run regular backups of your system. I would suggest also getting a larger, in the 500gb range harddrive to do them on. That way you can keep multiple backups. For example keeping a seperate backup for Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and then having one more Backup that gets done once a week and one more that gets done once a month. That way you can go back up to 5 days, 2 weeks or 1 full month.

May seem like overkill, but keep this in mind. 1st 500gb external drive will probably only run you about $150. Setting up this kind of backup is relatively easy to do and once you've got it setup you forget about it. 3rd if this is for a business the cost of loosing data will likely be more then $150 in frustration.