No POST, no display

edited March 2008 in Hardware
Recently I tried building my own (cheap) computer for the first time. Started from scratch and I'm still learning, so please excuse any ignorance.

Upon the first try, everything seemed to work well. I got to the point where I was ready to install my OS, upon which I discovered that my keyboard was unresponsive. I rebooted and the monitor was suddenly unresponsive as well. I asked my brother about it and he told me about POST, which I was totally unaware existed in my ignorance. It was concluded that the motherboard was just busted, so I sent it back and bought a somewhat more expensive one.

I got to the BIOS screen with the new motherboard and found that, again, my keyboard was unresponsive. Rebooted and... the monitor doesn't respond. Again. At this point I noticed that it was also not POSTing - it never had. The exact same problem with nearly the exact same circumstances.

I've tried running the bare minimum by disconnecting my drives one by one, one stick of RAM, etc. I've tried using both onboard video and a (cheap) video card, neither work. I tried resetting the CMOS and that did nothing. I'm completely out of ideas. Any help is greatly appreciated.

The part that really bothers me is that the monitor responded at first. It's messing with me. :sad2:

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2008
    No POST - the monitor is completely black? No text, nothing? Do the fans come on? Can you hear the hard drive spinning up?

Have you reset the CMOS? Reset the BIOS (CMOS chip) by moving a jumper laterally from two of the three pins to the adjacent two pins. Your motherboard manual will show you how to do this. Follow the instructions on how to reset the BIOS, and see if you can get into the BIOS.

Do you know how to enter the BIOS and for settings?
  • edited March 2008
    Leonardo wrote: