yet another potential rig to rip up,,,, please

cherplunkacherplunka Sunnyvale, CA Icrontian
edited August 2008 in Hardware
so, i'm primarily a creature/character animator and this is my proposed rig.

which....i'm buying within days.

it'll usually be running maya or softimage,
with photoshop, a massive music file, and civilization oft running at the same time (although not while rendering)

i'm a bit of a noob with hardware so please tell me what you think.

i've already seen a comment about the mother board on a different thread.
my answer to why i've picked it? it seems like a stable board for beginners. if you have a better choice i would very much appreciate your input.

so thank you in advance.

have at;

quadro fx 3700
(already purchased at a steep discount)

PC Power & Cooling S75QB 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply - Retail
HIPER OSIRIS HTC-1K514 Black 6063 T5 Alloy ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80569Q9550 - Retail

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ - Retail (i'm considering going 8gigs)

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
this drive will be for storage

and i'm thinking a 160 gig for os and programs....
but where should i put my scratch drive? at least on a second partition.

oh, and is it worth getting the quad core for fifty dollars more than this:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 Wolfdale 3.33GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8600 - Retail

feel free to tell me if i'm going overboard any where.

p.s. i'm going to brave vista.

thank you

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited August 2008