Removed Vista, back to XP Pro - Can't read windows.old data

meganm1524meganm1524 Madison
edited December 2008 in Hardware
Hi,

This is my first time on this forum and I'm truly hoping to get some help on my recovery. I'm on day 3 of my recovery attempts since my computer basically crashed. (when i would turn it on, I got nothing but a black screen) This is my work computer, with my whole life on it, including all my emails, client lists, website files for hundreds of websites, (which I know, luckily I can retrieve those from the server), tons of spreadsheets, - You get the idea.

I'll try to explain to you what I have done to get to where I am now, which is that I used the program GetDataBack to retrieve most of my files, but many of them are not viewable. So basically, I started with the basics, using the Windows Repair Console to try and fix missing or corrupt files preventing my computer from working. I tried so many different things that I got to the point where I knew that I was going to have succumb to doing a clean install of Windows XP, against my better judgment. But before I did that, I tried to use Windows Vista to do a repair, which reformatted my HD, and I was left with nothing. Vista then saved all my files to 'windows.old'. I hated the Vista environment b/c I couldn't get any of my programs to work, and I have over 300 of them.

So I decided to switch back to XP, and did so using BART's PE (a version I created, The Ultimate Boot CD for Windows). I was able to get back most of my personal files this way, but no programs or settings. However, I still have the 'windows.old' folder, and I can see everything that I want is in that folder, through the recovery tree I made, but none of them are readable. The file and folder names are all the same as they used to be, but when opened they are in some sort of scrambled code.

I have Office reinstalled, and my internet is working as well. I also reinstalled SP2.