Problem with downgrading a Dell studio 1737 to windows xp

13»

Comments

• edited March 2009
    WuGgaRoO wrote:
    HEYY!! QCh.. hows it hangoing... well thus far ive remedied one problem.. the AHCI

I did this by using nlite and customizing an installtion of windows xp... it loaded the necessary intel drivers and now i have AHCI enabeled (it was also enabeled during the install without even the slightest hint of BSOD)

HOWEVER, the unknown device is still there.. therefore it cannot be AHCI... ill get back to you in a few

I'm quite new to this & am not a techie so please forgive me if I'm being ingnorant, but where'd you get the necessary intel driver from? I've tried their website but for some reason the controller I need supported isn't in the list (Intel(R) 82801IMB I/O controller hub (ICH9M-B)).

Thanks
  • edited March 2009
    rfekkes wrote:
    Hello all,

I am also busy trying to install XP on my Dell 1737. Is is going fine but i got 1 device that just will not install (excluding ACPI\PNP0C32\0 and the 1394 controller wich i left alone for the moment)
    The device i am talking about is the "Audio device on High defintion audio bus"
    I installed the IDT sound driver wich enabels my sound so that works. I also installed the MS patch "kb888111" with no results. The device id is:
    HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8086&DEV_2802&SUBSYS_80860101&REV_1000\4&A74B963&0&0101

Does somebody knows how to install this device?

My sound's installed fine. There were two files I think that I needed to get it working. The IDT driver which you've already installed & an "unkown audio device patch" that I got from someone who'd posted all the drivers he thought were required. If you're still having trouble, let me know & I'll post the location of the file.
  • edited March 2009