SMP Folding in VMware, Please Help Me Get Started

2»

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    Thanks for caring, guys! (sniff, sniff)

I have one SMP client running under Ubuntu 8.04 LTS/VMware Player 2.5. It's cranking away perfectly last night, so I stopped it set up a second SMP client. To do that required upgrading the package's image from 7.10 to 8.04. Somehow that bombed this morning when I arose and restarted the files installations/upgrades. So right now I'm in the middle of re-upgrading the second VMware/Linux image to 8.05. (That's pretty big download for DSL, and we have download cap. Wife is gonna love me.)

I let the successful client run long enough to get a fix on production, Which was 3072PPD Folding a 2669/2/126/52. Not really impressed, I can get that sometimes on Windows with 2653 work unit.

Sorry to get this info out to you so late today guys, but being a Linux noob, I was up VERY late...this morning working out some issues. Learning new groofy terminology, ctrl-alt and ctrl-g to shift between VM and Windows desktop, absolutely awful desktop scaling with VMware/Ubuntu. my head hurts

OK, let me release this post for you to chew on, then I'll prepare another outlining monitoring problems.
  • mas0nmas0n howdy Icrontian
    edited January 2009
    Leonardo wrote:
    I let the successful client run long enough to get a fix on production, Which was 3072PPD Folding a 2669/2/126/52. Not really impressed, I can get that sometimes on Windows with 2653 work unit.

Right, but this is with only two of the four cores being utilized, correct?
    edited January 2009
    Monitoring. I cannot get Ubuntu to share directories/files on the home network therefor I am unable to monitor Folding through FAHMon on another computer. I have manually open the FahLog file in Home\Ubuntu to check Folding status.