Clean laptop heatsink and Where I went Wrong

edited March 2009 in Hardware
Hi there,

I'm new to any kind of forum but if someone could help me with my problem I would be really so grateful.(grin)

I need help to solve where I went wrong on following a great article posted by MCWC in August 2004 about cleaning a laptop heatsink. The laptop used in the article was just like mine, a Toshiba A30, but I bent one of the pins on the CPU putting it back in and now the laptop won't do anything.

I would like to try and solve this myself - can't afford to take it to a repair shop so if there is anyone at Icrontic who is willing to give some advice I can go into more detail.

Thank you so much
NorahBatty ( a total neophyte!)

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited March 2009
    Norah, is the bent pin still on the bottom of the CPU? If it is broken off, you'll most likely need to replace the CPU. I've never heard of anyone repairing a broken CPU pin.

If the pin is merely bent, but is not split or splintered, you are in luck and can probably easily fix it! Here's how: find a mechanical pencil with the fine .5mm lead. Remove the lead or back it off so that the end of the pencil is just the hollow tip. Insert the pencil tip over the end of the bent pin, push the pencil tip down to the base of the pin, then slowly and gently lever the pin back to where it is parallel to all the other pins. If you are very gentle and steady, the pin should not break. Many of us here have used this technique with success, including me.
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited March 2009