Possibly looking for a netbook/notebook

MiracleManSMiracleManS Chambersburg, PA Icrontian
edited March 2009 in Hardware
So, I'm a tech nut. I want a new desktop (that will take forever at this pace to build). What would really be nice is something portable I can take with me when I visit friends and family. I don't necessarily want to game (aside from, POSSIBLY WoW. If I really want to play TF2 or L4D, I'll bring a box), but I would like the ability to do basic tasks like work on python/perl/random language x development as well as the ability to browse the web without feeling overly "crunched" by screen real estate.

What I'm wondering is if there is anything out there for less than $400 that would fulfill the very basic requirements and still be bigger than the 8.9" Eee PC screens?

I know ION is on the horizon, but I don't know that I want to wait that long for such a toy.

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited March 2009
    MSI Wind is 10". Just go to Best Buy and Microcenter and play with some netbooks.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited March 2009
    I really like my MSI Wind U120. It does everything I need.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited March 2009
    MSI Wind is probably the current winner of the existing netbooks. They are all more or less the same in terms of power so it comes down to usability and price and that's where I think MSI wins.
    edited March 2009
    ^ My opinion as well, and what sold me on the netbook over the others.
  • MiracleManSMiracleManS Chambersburg, PA Icrontian
    edited March 2009
    I've looked at it and it seems pretty swank. I really like the 10" screen...I just don't think I'd adjust well to 8.9" and the small keyboard.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited March 2009