J's new PC

jj Sterling Heights, MI Icrontian
edited June 2009 in Hardware
TF2 looks totally different. It's like I'm playing a cartoon. The graphics card rocks. However...

During my build I did run into some annoying problems.

Gigabyte issues:
1 - Gigabyte needs to supply the correct amount of cables for there motherboards. They have 4 SATA ports but just 2 cables? Come on...really? 2 SATA cables and they give you 2 IDE cables. There is one one freakn' IDE port! Having to go out and buy extra cable was annoying.

2 - There custom back plate for the connectors, come on, they couldn't just use the standard. Literally 1 audio jack did not line up with the case back plate.

Video Card issues:
All through it is a great card it didn't mention that it needed a PCIe power connector. So I ended up having to buy a new power supply just because of that. Even in manual it does not tell you what power connector it is. Only when you open the it up and look at the card. FAIL. Ok yes I'm a NOOB and PCIe connectors are prob pretty common with high end cards, but proper documentation would have been nice.

Positives:
The case was really nice to work with.
The Intel processor came with a fan. I'm use to getting CPU's with no fan.
I can notice a real difference between my old PC and this one.
TF2 look REALLY sweet. I put all option to MAX setting and it runs great.
Never had a PC that could do that.
Only got 3GB RAM recognition, but I'm only using a 32bit OS. Once windows 7 come out (for a reasonable price) I'll be all set.

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited May 2009
    And this, kids, is why you don't buy shitty off-brand power supplies. ;)

//edit: There is no PC backplane standard. That's why they're interchangeable.
  • BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited May 2009