What is overclocking?

SoulEvolutionSoulEvolution Toronto
edited September 2009 in Hardware
I am new to many things that have to do with computers, and im not really familiar with overclocking, what is it exactly?

Comments

• AlexDeGruvenAlexDeGruven Wut? Meechigan Icrontian
    edited September 2009
    In the simplest terms, Overclocking is the process of running a piece of computer equipment (processor, RAM, video card, for the most part) at a higher frequency than that which it is rated by increasing the underlying frequency being presented to it by the motherboard.

So, you could take an Intel Core2Duo E7200, which is rated to run at 2.53GHz using a 1066MHz FSB and clock it to 2.8GHz by increasing that FSB frequency (what we call 'speed').

There is a lot of complexity in anything more than the absolute most basic overclocking procedures. Most OC operations will void your equipment's warranty at best, and will destroy the device at worst. Additionally, overclocking will typically increase the TDP (Thermal Design Power) of processors, and will require additional cooling to achieve/maintain stability.

This particular forum is full of tons of information that can help you get off the ground with it.

Good luck!
  • Cliff_ForsterCliff_Forster Icrontian
    edited September 2009
    I am new to many things that have to do with computers, and im not really familiar with overclocking, what is it exactly?

A way to squeeze a little extra out of existing hardware. Depending on motherboard, CPU, GPU, RAM used, type of cooling installed, all will factor into weather its a worthwhile venture or not.

Do you have a system you would like some guidance on? Let us in on the specs and perhaps we can make some recommendations on how to get started.
  • lordbeanlordbean Ontario, Canada
    edited September 2009
    "Overclocking" is like natural male enhancement for computers. It makes your e-peen bigger.