gaining muscle/weight

tmh88tmh88 Pittsburgh / Athens, OH
edited June 2011 in Fitness
Hey everyone,

Last January I started lifting weights with my room mates(who have been doing it for years and have a whole bunch of workouts), so they helped me get a workout plan going. I was on a pretty strict workout plan going to the gym about 3 days a week from January through May or so. Back then I started in January at about 174 lbs and dropped to 155lbs. I lost a lot of fat and gained a little bit of muscle.

My schedule was chaotic and I sort of gave up, but I started again in the first week of September. I'm currently 6'2 155 lbs, with about 10-12% body fat. I used to be a runner and have a fast metabolism, so it's really hard for me to gain weight.

Currently I go to the gym 4 days a week. Monday I usually do shoulders and bicep workouts, and tuesday it's chest and triceps. Thursday it's lower body, and Friday or Saturday I work on my back and anything else that I feel wasn't worked out well enough. I won't get into the details but I got the workouts from bodybuilding.com and from some friends who have been bodybuilding for years and are big/scary. The one thing that bothers me is my bench press will NOT increase no matter what I do. Damn these long arms.

Since I started this workout plan of going to the gym 3-4 days a week in the beginning of September my weight hasn't budged at all. I'm stuck around 155 lbs and can't seem to put any more muscle on. Ive noticed some increases in the weight that I'm putting up, but not enough to be satisfied. I also noticed that I'm more toned, but not necessarily bigger. I take whey protein with every workout, and just started on a cycle of creatine. I'm currently in the loading phase, so I've upped my water consumption a lot.