A bunch of parts...Now what?

yossarian084yossarian084 Norwich, VT, USA Member
edited January 2006 in Hardware
Just bought a Thermaltake Armor case, AMD 2G processor, 600W power supply, an MSI VGA, ASUS MB and 1Gig of matched memory. This is my first build so i'm a little overwhelmed. The PSU is in the case, and the VGA, processor and RAM are on the MB. I plugged in the system power from both the front switch and PSU, the reset button, internal speaker and led's. Two USB 2.0 inputs from the top of the case are plugged in on the MB too. The writing on the connectors is facing the top of the case. there seems to a lot of wires coming out of the PSU that don't have spots on the MB. Just to start: What are the clunky, white 4 pin connectors? How do I do the audio and IEEE 1394?:confused:

Also, the SATA connectors from the PSU dont fit the SATA on the MB. OK, I admit I don't know what SATA is.....

Comments

• MadballMadball Fort Benton, MT
    edited December 2005
    SATA is a type of hard drive. The SATA connectors on the PSU plug into a SATA hard drive to power it. A cable from the SATA hard drive plugs into the connector on the MB.
  • dragonV8dragonV8 not here much New
    edited December 2005
    A picture tells a thousand words.

Sata power cable to HDD.
    Sata comm cable from Mobo to HDD.
  • deicistdeicist Manchester, UK
    edited December 2005