Ouch! Just got my electric bill

BDRBDR
edited October 2003 in Folding@Home
It's costing me $2.81 a day to run 8 pc's 24/7, and that's over and above the rate I was running this time last year, for a daily rate of $5.76 a day for electricity in total.

I've been running 8 towers for a couple months, but last month's bill was estimated and was artificialy low, so I didn't get the full impact until today.

What it amounts to is that I'll have to turn some of the low producing towers off.

Sorry peeps, but I'll try to concentrate on upgrading the ones I'm leaving running, for best output.

Comments

• HotrodsunHotrodsun Salem, OR
    edited October 2003
    May I suggest dual processor computers. Twice the production, with a little more power consumption then of a single proc computer.
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    BDR

I would say you REALLY ARE CONTRIBUTING! ;)

BTW
    Your sig just caught my attention. Thank you for contributing along with a2jfreak. I was wondering who else was making my points go up. :D
    edited October 2003
    Hotrodsun said
    May I suggest dual processor computers. Twice the production, with a little more power consumption then of a single proc computer.
    Some one please prove me wrong but doesn't only one fold while it leaves the other free for other tasks?
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    mtgoat said
    Hotrodsun said
    Some one please prove me wrong but doesn't only one fold while it leaves the other free for other tasks?

Install 2 instances of f@h. One for each cpu buddy ;)
    edited October 2003
    Mackanz said
    mtgoat said
    Hotrodsun said

Install 2 instances of f@h. One for each cpu buddy ;)
    Cool! Or like they say sout of the border "Neato Burrito"
  • BDRBDR
    edited October 2003