Opteron 170 OC to 2.3ghz

edited April 2006 in Hardware
I am brand new to the world of overclocking and after reading a few posts, i have noooo idea where to start. Can someone help me overclock my system to 2.3ghz? No idea what settings to set to achieve it. Here is my setup.

Opteron 170
A8N32-SLI
OCZ Plat 2gb DDR400 2-3-2-5
ATI x800XL

Also should i use the stock cooling that comes with the Opteron or use my current Zalman 9500 for OC'n?

Thanks

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited April 2006
    Have you every come to the right place!

Check out your new forum's ultimate Socket 754/939 overclcocking guide!

Welcome to Short-Media. :)
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited April 2006
    While the heatpipe cooler that comes with the Opteron is quite good the Zalman is better.
  • QeldromaQeldroma Arid ZoneAh Member
    edited April 2006
    mdalegre wrote:
    ... Can someone help me overclock my system to 2.3ghz? ...
    Opteron 170
    A8N32-SLI
    OCZ Plat 2gb DDR400 2-3-2-5
    Zalman 9500 ...

You are definitely in the right place. Your A8N32 is every bit as good as my A8R32-MVP and I would say 2.3GHz

is very doable.

As a matter of fact, you may well find a very comfortable spot at 2.4GHz.

Be sure to write down the letters and numbers off the face of your Opteron so you may be able to determine the stepping. This helps determine what your Opty is capable of- some are better overclockers than others and knowing is important. Still- I don't know the Opteron 170 that hasn't been able to do 2.3.

All I can say is ... :thumbsup: !!!
  • edited April 2006
    Qeldroma wrote:
    You are definitely in the right place. Your A8N32 is every bit as good as my A8R32-MVP and I would say 2.3GHz

is very doable.

As a matter of fact, you may well find a very comfortable spot at 2.4GHz.