HP dv8000t Taken Apart

124»

Comments

• howardhoward Banda Aceh, Indonesia
    edited April 2009
    Folks,

I have a dv8000t CTO unit, dual drives (120GB each). I'd like to replace my second drive with a larger-capacity drive. The HP specs say that the interface type is ATA-5. Newegg sells ATA-6 laptop drives (2.5") of 250GB and 320GB from Western Digital. I understand that ATA-6 drives are backward-compatible with ATA-5 interfaces.

Do you folks foresee any problems in replacing my 120GB ATA-5 "D" drive with one of those larger ATA-6 drives from Western Digital? I'm pretty new at this (I'd never think of taking my dv8000t apart like Sledgehammer did a while back!), so any advice would be appreciated! Thanks, guys!
  • mertesnmertesn I am Bobby Miller Yukon, OK Icrontian
    edited April 2009
    howard wrote:
    Folks,

I have a dv8000t CTO unit, dual drives (120GB each). I'd like to replace my second drive with a larger-capacity drive. The HP specs say that the interface type is ATA-5. Newegg sells ATA-6 laptop drives (2.5") of 250GB and 320GB from Western Digital. I understand that ATA-6 drives are backward-compatible with ATA-5 interfaces.

Do you folks foresee any problems in replacing my 120GB ATA-6 "D" drive with one of those larger ATA-6 drives from Western Digital? I'm pretty new at this (I'd never think of taking my dv8000t apart like Sledgehammer did a while back!), so any advice would be appreciated! Thanks, guys!
    You should not have a problem.
  • howardhoward Banda Aceh, Indonesia
    edited April 2009
    mertesn wrote:
    You should not have a problem.

Thanks, mertesn! I'll give it a shot!
  • edited June 2009
    Oh boy did I hate taking this laptop apart. I put on some Arctic Silver 5 and removed the dust bunnies.

When I boot up my screen has some faint horizontal lines. Feels like a shielding issue. Any thoughts?

I'm dreading tearing this back down, maybe I can find out where those extra 3 screws went.