AVG Vs. McAfee

DeanoDeano Leicestershire, England
edited June 2011 in Science & Tech
This may seem like a dumb question, but i was just wondering which one is better for anti-virus protection; Grisoft AVG, or McAfee?

At the moment, i have AVG, but my friend has McAfee, and says it is alot better than AVG...

So Does anybody know which one is better, and if so, why it is better?

[and i apologize, i never notcied the "spyware/torjan/virus help" thread, until now]

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited July 2006
    but ym friend has McAfee, and says it is alot better than AVG...
    Your friend simply doesn't know what he's talking about. McAfee is a good product as an anti-virus program, but no better, in my opinion than AVG. The benefits of McAfee are that you get to pay for it! Yay..:rolleyes: ?

I've been using AVG for several years on multiple computers. I also install it on the computers of friends and relatives that I work on or build. I've used McAfee, Norton, AVG, and PCCillin (sp?). AVG is just as good as any of them. One advantage of AVG over Norton and McAfee is that it doesn't have all kinds of activity running in the background. It's also very easy to install, uninstall, and configure, UNLIKE McAfee.
  • GnomeWizarddGnomeWizardd Member 4 Life Akron, PA Icrontian
    edited July 2006
    as a tech for several BIG retailers ( geek squad from Best buy and IQ crew at circuit city ) Thank God i quit them ( bunch of idiots ) but anywho McAffee is CRAP
  • airbornflghtairbornflght Houston, TX Icrontian
    edited July 2006
    Yeh, I use AVG on all of my computers, and I recommend it to anyone who asks about an antivirus, I have probably save people a few hundred dollars from buying norton and mcafee.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited July 2006