Conroe 6600 retail, Asus P5W DH Deluxe, Zalman 9500LED

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited August 2006
    Mack, I've no first hand experience, but reading many accounts of very high Conroe overclocks on stock Intel coolers. No?
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited August 2006
    It's true. People have achieved 3GHz+ on stock, but it's actually pretty rare. The big air OCs have come on the Ninja and Big Typhoon sink.
    edited August 2006
    The big air OCs have come on the Ninja and Big Typhoon sink.
    Not exactly a surprise. :D
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway Icrontian
    edited August 2006
    The ES cpu's clocks far far better than the retail and is also more compatible with 965i chipset.
  • JimboraeJimborae Newbury, Berks, UK New
    edited August 2006
    That sucks Jim. That must be some lousy ram i'd say. Got no other DDR2 at all?

Cooling is crucial on Conroes. Do not cheat on cooling if you intend to do any overclock. 1.55 volts or more is really getting toasty even on semi-good cooling like the Big Typhoon. Idle is on the other hand very cool. Like in the low 30's but loaded temps after a couple of hours are in the mid fifties. Remember, at least the 4mb cache cpu's start to throttle at 65c.

Currently, there are 2 hsf's that's competing. The Tunic Tower and Scythe Infinity. None of them can be found here in faroffistan.

Hi Mack,

No other DDR2 as I'm new to the platfomr. I actually got one of the sticks to work, it just hated moderate to high volts, anything over 2.05v and it errors. The other stick is just bad so rma'ing it.

Anyways with the one stick I managed to get the fsb of the cpu up to 438fsb before I hit the wall. This gives me 3.06Ghz on the cpu so it's not too bad for a 6300. This is at 1.4v

As for cooling everything is water cooled by my Zalman Reserator and a desktop fan (when required) so temps are well under controlled.