Hello from my USB thumbdrive!

the_technocratthe_technocrat IC-MotY1Indy Icrontian
edited August 2008 in Folding@Home
OK, so I'm no Linux expert, but I am writing this from a Damn Small Linux installation to a Lexmark JumpDrive memory key.

What's better, I figured out how to have FAH start automatically when the distro boots up! (After running it once to configure it with my name, etc.)

Anyone else want to try? I'll send the files, just PM me!

You''l know FAH is working when the 'processor usage' graph is pegged at 100%... :)

Oh, and it's only using 64.5 MB of RAM right now! (With FireFox open)

cool! My own portable folding platform!

Comments

• the_technocratthe_technocrat IC-MotY1 Indy Icrontian
    edited October 2006
    Oh, and total space taken up on the thumbdrive: 109MB

:-)
    edited October 2006
    OK, if anyone wants to try no-hard-drive-needed folding, grab an old 128MB+ usb thumbdrive, set your test rig to boot from USB-FDD (or USB-ZIP on some bioses) and give it a try!

(You'll need to boot into Linux and modify the config file if you want to get credit for the WU's you finish...)

I have a readme inside the zip file. I tried to make the install as painless as possible. Most of it is scripted via a batch file.

READ THE README. You need to change the installer batch file to point it towards the right drive letter of your USB thumbdrive.

The zip for all of this won't be available for long, so if anyone (or SM) wants to host it, that's cool.

http://www.yousendit.com/download/LHUOjFIhwLg%3D

edit: not sure if that link will work
  • airbornflghtairbornflght Houston, TX Icrontian
    edited October 2006
    I will host it. Prime might, but I will put it up for now.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited October 2006
    If I can download it, I'll host it directly on this server, but I can't get it from that link you sent.
    edited October 2006
    link remove because its on mortin now.