Q6600 impulse buy

13»

Comments

• mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited October 2007
    You may just tempt me to upgrade my Swifty 650 to the 655 with the adjustable flow. The 350 was much quieter than the 650.
  • mas0nmas0n howdy Icrontian
    edited November 2007
    Q6600-005.jpg

That's as far as I can get it for now. Anything over 3.6 requires crazy voltage and the power consumption is nuts. 3.6 will be my 24/7, but it's been folding and gaming for 2 days now at 425x9. The 10C and 50W difference is not worth the 200MHz

I'd like to play with a lower multiplier, but 425 is all this DDR800 will do. We'll see though, this board has so many options, I'm just getting started.

EDIT: load temps
    425x9 : 58-63-57-60
    400x9 : 49-51-45-47

Those are after lapping it early yesterday, shaved off 3-5C, but temps are still a little too far apart for my liking.
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited November 2007
    I'd like to play with a lower multiplier
    Your Q6600 is multiplier unlocked?
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited November 2007
    All Core 2s have 3-4 multipliers down from their stock multi.
    edited November 2007
    I have tried on two different motherboards, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 and Abit IP35-E to change the mulitplier. Neither would move it from the stock setting '9.'
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited November 2007
    CPUs with 9 have 9, 8, 7 and sometimes 6 available. All of them.
    edited November 2007
    Maybe I only tried to change the multiplier up before. I think what I did was just moved the multiplier up, saw that it didn't take, and assumed the Q's were multiplier locked. Next time I'm rooting around in the BIOS, I'll try stepping it down. I've still got quite a ways though before I determine the limits on the current multiplier. I'm waiting on better cooling before I continue the overclock workup.
  • SnarkasmSnarkasm Madison, WI Icrontian