Looking for Socket 478 PCI-E motherboard recommendations

RADARADA Apple Valley, CA Member
edited July 2008 in Hardware
The P4P800 E Deluxe I've been using for the last 3 years died.. :(

Looking to do minor upgrade, the $$ is not around to build a new system, so I'd like to use as much of my old system as possible..

I'd like to replace the board and upgrade my video card, but re-use my memory, proc, drives, etc..

So, that being said, who makes the best Socket 478 PCI-E motherboard? I know this is older hardware I'm going have to get off ebay. When this hardware was the latest and greatest, I had just completed a build along with being too busy with school and life to keep up on what was the best at the time...

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited June 2008
    You don't have to go eBay. I'd also take a look trading forums: Icrontic, Anandtech, Hardforums, and PCPerspective. Back in the 478 days, the performance and quality boards Asus P4P, Abit IC7, and Epox. Intel also made very good quality boards, but they have few tweaking options.

I ran two or three Abit IC7 series boards. They were excellent quality and superb performers. You are much more likely to find Asus boards on the used market though, due to their market penetration.
  • RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited June 2008
    RADA, afaik, you will have to look to Asrock or other manuf that do hybrid.

Everything that Leo mentioned is just AGP.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/index.asp?s=478
    edited June 2008
    Everything that Leo mentioned is just AGP.
    OOOH, didn't even think about GPU interface! (crap, that's embarassing)

Of course, you could go PCI video. Don't know if you can find any PCI cards that are better than the onboard GPUs.
  • RADARADA Apple Valley, CA Member
    edited June 2008
    Whew!

Beginning to realize that a Socket 478 pci-e Mobo is rarer than a chartreuse Bigfoot!