Building a New PC

The-Lovable-Mr--HaterThe-Lovable-Mr--Hater Planet Earth
edited August 2009 in Hardware
I am going to try and build my own computer, so I can get the maximum speed that I am looking for. I have never built one before, so I just need a little advice on what to look for.

I am looking at an ASUS Motherboard, Model number P5Q.
Here are the specs from it.

<TABLE class=specification cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=name>Brand</TD><TD class=desc>ASUS</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>Model</TD><TD class=desc></SCRIPT>P5Q</TD></TR><TR><TD class=title colSpan=2></TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>CPU SocketType

</TD><TD class=desc></SCRIPT>LGA 775</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>CPU Type</TD><TD class=desc></SCRIPT>Quad-core / Core 2 Extreme / Core 2 Duo / Pentium</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>FSB</TD><TD class=desc></SCRIPT>1600/1333MHz

</TD></TR><TR><TD class=title colSpan=2>Chipsets</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>North Bridge</TD><TD class=desc>Intel P45</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>South Bridge</TD><TD class=desc>Intel ICH10R</TD></TR><TR><TD class=title colSpan=2>Memory</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>Number of Memory Slots

</TD><TD class=desc>4×240pin</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>Memory Standard

</TD><TD class=desc>DDR2 1200</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>Maximum Memory

Supported
</TD><TD class=desc></SCRIPT>16GB</TD></TR><TR><TD class=name>Channel

Supported