help windows\system32\config\system missing

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited November 2006
    Okey-dokey, just wanted to make sure that you were in the right place.

Zoltain, (and everyone else who is still beset with this problem), see if this handy guide will save your bacon. :)
  • edited November 2006
    Ahh... it looked like this one would work too since you need to be in c:\> but it does not for me. When i Type C:ATTRIB –H C:\BOOT.INI it says this file cannot be opened. :confused::confused::confused: . Why is my computer soo screwed up????? Thank you though for taking the time to help :bigggrin:
  • jonny_hjonny_h godalming, surrey
    edited November 2006
    hey guys, new user here!

i got the old windows\system32\config\system missing screen as so did the world. i am a novice pc user. i can boot from cd but dont know hoe to get on system recovery! how do i?

thx jonny xx
    edited November 2006
    jonny_h wrote:
    ...i can boot from cd but dont know hoe to get on system recovery! how do i?...
    profdlp wrote:
    ...see if this handy guide will save your bacon. :)
    Read and heed. :thumbup
  • edited November 2006
    Hi,

I'm getting the same problem but on different situation, I had put 1GB SD Ram in total i.e. i've 2 512 mb RAMs .. But when I removed 1 slot it worked perfect. I tried again then got the same problem.

Is it the hardware or OS problem?

Could anybody please help me on this problem?

Thanks Bimlesh
    edited November 2006
    Run Memtest-86, on each stick individually and then on both sticks together.
  • edited November 2006
    Hi,

I am the latest victim of the system32\config\system problem which occurred after a restart of my computer. I booted from the XP cd and through the recovery console tried to repair the config files according to the microsoft and kelly's guidelines but the system file is missing. What can I do now?
  • edited November 2006
    Tex wrote: