Cooling the MSI Master2 FAR

1235»

Comments

• milo001milo001 Houston, TX
    edited March 2006
    Thanks, that means I can use the originals on my board since it had both of them.
  • edited April 2006
    Hello,
    I'm a newbie when it comes to building computers. I built my first computer ever a few months ago, but the noise has been driving me insane - especially since I built this to be an audio workstation!

Basically, if possible, I would like to replace ONLY the fan, and leave the heatsink that came with the board on. So here are my couple of questions:

*Does the heatsink have anything to do wih the noise besides keeping temperatures low for the fan?

*What size fans fit best on the stock heatsinks?

*Is there a particular fan that works exceptionally well at keeping noise down and keeping things cool?

I've read the whole thread a few times, and have found a lot of helpful information. Thank you everyone who has been helping for so long!

Thanks in advance,
    -Daniel Rheaume

My system
    MSI K8T-Master 2 Far
    (x1) Opteron 246
    1gb Samsung Registered RAM
    Rackmount Case (built by someone online - don't know the brand)
    (x2) 200 GB Seagate Hard Drive
    ATI Radeon 9000
  • drasnordrasnor Starship Operator Hawthorne, CA Icrontian
    edited April 2006
    If you have two matched stock heatsinks, they both take 70mm x 15mm fans. You can find these at various places online, try http://www.svc.com or http://www.newegg.com. If you have one of the offset heatsinks, it takes 60mm fans. You can verify this by measuring the edge with a ruler.