Oblivion tips and tricks (possible spoilers)

Comments

• edited June 2006
    I have an ATI Radeon R600
    hehe
  • edited June 2006
    Stuck in kind of a rut here. Been playing Oblivion on the 360 for about a month. Got really far, tons of items, I'm an expert thief.

Turns out I have this Cheese I stole from Border Watch (the place with all the Kahjit (sp) people. I think it might be called Orlav cheese or whatever. Anyway, it appears to be part of a quest. I have the manual and can't seem the find the quest in there, and stealing the cheese itself does not activate this quest.

Regardless, many of you may well know stealing an item and getting arrested sometimes (or in my case, always) locks up your game. The reason for this? Simple.

You cannot remove quest items from your inventory. You can't eat the cheese. I have a bounty on my head and I can't seem to get it removed. Since the guards confiscate stolen goods, yet quest items cannot be removed, this creates a paradox for the game and it gets stuck in an infinite loop to keep the item in your inventory, yet have it removed by the guard.

Could I get it removed if I'm in the thieves guild? I know you can sell stolen item to fences and then repurchase them without the "red hand" that identifies stolen items. (my character is not currently in the thieves guild, so it would be extremely hard to join without getting busted by the guards)

I've been stuck with this problem for a couple days and I can't seem to find a solution. Any help? Thanks!

EDIT:

Managed to fix my own problem. Turns out a freak chance of events caused this problem. Check this out:

I completed the "Corrupt Guard" mission where you send the Imperial guard to the slammer for his misdeads. I found out that by not paying gold or by not resisting arrest, I was able to keep the game from freezing by simply going to jail (the only reason I didn't try this before is I wanted a clean record for "days spent in jail")