WARNING: Catalyst 3.8's Overheating Radeon 9800's

Comments

• BlackHawkBlackHawk Bible music connoisseur There's no place like 127.0.0.1 Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    Has anyone reported overheating with the leaked 3.9's? I have them installed but I don't know if it's overheating cause it's my first time actually OC'ing the card.
  • SimGuySimGuy Ottawa, Canada
    edited October 2003
    The Dell 3.9's or the Omega 3.9's?
  • BlackHawkBlackHawk Bible music connoisseur There's no place like 127.0.0.1 Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    Omega, although I would guess it would be the same.
  • edited October 2003
    what if we DON'T overlock the 9800 PRO? I have not had one single issue with the 3.8 and my 9800 PRO and I play BF 1942 like 4 hours each night....
    edited October 2003
    Don't worry about it then. Although the core will be operating warmer than usual, if you aren't getting any artifacts, then don't worry about it. However, be on the look-out for problems with Monitor Refresh Rates.
  • edited October 2003
    my card wasnt overclocked, and has 3.3 ns samsung memory, and still fried
    edited October 2003
    Disvengeance had this to say
    my card wasnt overclocked, and has 3.3 ns samsung memory, and still fried

Overclocked or not, the overheating problem is affecting all cards identified as a Radeon 9800, 9800 Pro or 9800 XT in Windows.

Sorry to hear about the loss of the card.
    edited October 2003
    UPDATE: Monitor Death Issue From Catalyst 3.8 Software:

I've got more information regarding the "Monitor Death" problem with the ATI Catalyst 3.8 driver series:

Known Cards Affected:
    All Radeon 9800 XT's
    All Radeon 9800 Pro's
    All Radeon 9800 Non-Pro's

Possible Cards Affected:
    All Radeon 9700 Pro's
    All Radeon 9700 Non-Pro's